Moments in time

FOLLOWING MY afternoon café yesterday, I stepped across the street to sit a spell on a stone bench. I whipped out the Canon from my man bag and shot a brief video.

It was about 6 p.m., and nothing much was going on. Kids were playing. You can hear them. You can also hear music, which is coming from ground speakers installed around our plaza, part of a renovation about five years ago.

City Hall says it’s the largest main plaza in the country after the Zócalo in Mexico City. Maybe it is.

The rainy season is easing in. We got a good blow just last night, rain and wind colliding with the windows that face in that direction. The bedroom windows.

The Hacienda lawn got cut last Saturday, first of the year. Within three days it needed cutting again, but once a week is the limit. The rest of the time we’ll just wade through grass.

Things are getting cooler, which is the main advantage of the five-month rainy season. Cool summers! Who would have imagined it? I had no idea before I moved down here because I had done little research about anything at all.

I’m writing this at 8 a.m. It’s time to go downstairs for croissants and orange marmalade. Then I’ll sweep the veranda of the crap that storm last night blew into there.

It won’t take long.

(Post-croissant update: We played Pancho & Lefty on the music machine. A hummingbird flew into the veranda and looked directly at us through the dining room window screen.)

15 thoughts on “Moments in time”

    1. Mark: Actually, it’s changed quite a bit, all for the better. The ring road is now four lanes, not two. There are stoplights and two major supermarket chains. Downtown streets are getting renovated.

      The only thing missing is you. The womenfolk surely think that.

      Like

  1. There’s nothing like Townes van Zandt in the morning.

    That you didn’t research the annual rainfall and the median temps, vetting and auditioning venues, before moving here isn’t surprising, because you have the ability to roll with the punches, adapt, and appreciate what’s on your plate. I’m constantly amused by the amount of research so many would-be expats undertake, because those who’ve done the most research also seem the most likely to hit the brick wall and go running back to the mothership.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ms. Shoes: Mothership indeed. You’re a hoot and, as almost always, correct. Sometimes, I think back and marvel at my almost total lack of “research.” I took “winging it” to a whole new level.

      You forgot to mention that the folks who do so much homework before moving here also come down in a monster truck that they purchased for the occasion, and hauling a 60-foot trailer jammed with the things they just couldn’t leave behind.

      By the way, I was listening to the version by Willie and that other guy, not the Townes van Zandt, which is also a good version.

      Like

        1. Ray: Once upon a time, my mother, my second wife and I were walking in downtown New Orleans. I forget what occasioned the remark, but my mother turned to my second wife and said: “He don’t understand subtlety.”

          She was right.

          Liked by 1 person

      1. Ray: He was responding to my reference to the Pancho & Lefty version by Willie Nelson and “the other guy.” Wasn’t referring to you, which is what I think you thought.

        This particular WordPress theme does not make it clear sometimes what comment is a response to what. A defect. We live in an imperfect world.

        Liked by 1 person

Comments improve karma.

